Reflection Time with Papa S

Reading through my boy Isaiah yesterday

“See how the faithful city has become a prostitute!
She once was full of justice, righteousness used to dwell in her – but now murderers!”

A warning to the 21st Century Christian. Even those who were once faithful and full of righteousness, can fall victim to the world. Even we, once wide-eyed, ambitious, rich toward God, can become lost, too accepting of the brokenness around us, that we become part of it. Surrounded by a world that worships other gods, I have to ask; when they offer you to follow their gods, will you use that opportunity to stand out and show them the God you worship? Or will we forsake our God for a temporary inclusion with society, deny him and give the world what it wants, rather than what it needs.

Further warnings (still in Isaiah 1)

“The multitude of your sacrifices-
what are they to me?” says the Lord.

Stop bringing meaningless offerings!
Your incense is detestable to me.

Your New Moon feasts and your
appointed festivals
I hate with all my being.
They have become a burden to me;
I am weary of bearing them.
When you spread out your hands in prayer,
I hide my eyes from you;
even when you offer many prayers,
I am not listening.

God is sick of our empty prayers! He is tired of our hands which work but whose hearts remain unchanged. Doing Christian things does not make us Christian, for God will not look at our works when we arrive at the pearly gates, it is the heart that he truly wants.

Some More Musings

So yesterday I was doing some stuff at the bank, then I get asked for my photo and an interview for some Korean magazine. And I was like coolies this is exciting. So I was sat down and was asked all these serious questions about marriage and stuff. And then they asked me how would you go about solving conflict in a relationship. And I was like, well the couple has to talk obviously. And you really gotta get to the root of the problem, otherwise it will definitely resurface and manifest itself in other ways, perhaps even stronger than before. And this really got me thinking about when Jesus talks about an impure spirit leaving a person. All is well and good, but that spirit may go and find seven other spirits more wicked than itself and return to the place it once dwelt. So yes we really do need to yank out our problems out by the root, but I reckon that that’s not enough, we also really need to fill it’s place with something good. Let a good seed work and grow in it’s place, leaving no room for that problem to reignite.

And so like sometimes I get really severely depressed right. And sometimes I can never figure out what that root of the problem is. Am I not working hard enough? Are my expectations for myself too high? And I’ve settled with the idea that maybe for the rest of my days, I will never be able to identify the immediate cause of my afflictions. Maybe I seek appreciation and support from my parents too hard. Perhaps it stems from the guilt of letting people down. And I can go on and on, plucking away at all these smaller roots, but I realize that humanity’s biggest issue, the biggest root of our problems, has always been our relationship with God. And too often we fail to realize this, and we discredit the cause of our problems to something else. But I understand now that maybe God will never relinquish me from these cycles of depression. Maybe I will never become that super manly man I’ve always aspired to be. But whatever happens, I will always continue to seek more and more an intimacy with my Creator, for that has always been the biggest issue, and it would be good on the day Jesus returns, that he finds us still seeking, and running hard. Whether I get the girl, whether I get my dream job, whether I become the super Christian guy of my ambitions, whether I ever finally reach my own destinations or not. I am happy to keep running and searching. And so run hard I will!

A to the men.

2 thoughts on “Reflection Time with Papa S

  1. poop

    I’ve been thinking long and hard about what you’ve mentioned at the beginning of this post. Even those who loves Jesus with all their passion can one day become numb to the gospel. This is especially true of kids who’ve been raised all their lives as a ‘christian’. It’s so important to preach the gospel to ourselves daily, seeking to grasp the depths & heights & width of His love for us and what that means. Keep reflecting, keep blogging, keep seeking, keep praying murphcakes!

    Reply
    1. murphdawgs Post author

      thankyou poop! Perhaps then it is time to search for Jesus outside the good book. See what he is doing in your city, in the lives of the oppressed. Jesus is getting up to all sorts of cray adventures, not only in our own bubbles, but everywhere he is hustlin. So let’s pop that bubble, venture to those unfamiliar places, and you’ll be in awe at what you guys can get up to if you bring him along with ya. Good luck poop!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

