Consistency

I struggle with consistency. Too willingly I’ll start things with ambition and enthusiasm, but then be unable to finish them or unprepared to persevere through the hardships that follow. Even small things, this blog, waking up on time, being punctual. And then there are the big responsibilities too. Being home for dinner, personal devotions. Lord, teach me to commit in all that I do.

I disappear a lot. Close myself off from the world. And slowly, this starts to take a toll on the relationships I have. I commit myself today to rekindling old relationships. Repenting humbly to those I’ve failed. I’ve let down a lot of people in my past. Not doing things I’ve said I’ll do. Not turning up to events I click attending to. I just pray God to teach me lessons in discipline. Lessons in persistence. Lessons in love. Eugene’s pastoral note for March 16th speaks on spiritual training. This is my training for this year. To be available, consistent, reliable.

– Learn to say no to things you cannot give 100% to.
– Wake up on time to prevent depression.
– Commit to prayerful dependence and patience and planning! Plan more before diving into things!
– Find out what’s happening in other’s lives! So I can learn how to understand them, love them, be praying unceasingly for them.

This is an account and hopefully the first of many of my training in godliness this year.

“Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. Watch your life and your doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.”
1 Timothy 4:15-16

One thought on “Consistency

Leave a Reply

